The International Innovation Award

An award to valorise the innovative content proposed by companies exhibiting at Metef 2022

The International Innovation Award is an initiative organized by Metef which aims to reward the most innovative proposals submitted by exhibiting companies at Metef 2022, relating to innovations in plants, technologies, products and applications in aluminium and its alloys.

The prize, which will be awarded to the winners on the first day of the exhibition, will be divided into six different categories – materials – machines and plants technologies and processesproducts, components and systemsapplicationsother – and will be awarded by a jury of specialists, who will evaluate the applications on the basis of the degree of originality and the competitive advantages that the innovations are able to offer, favoring the aspects of energy saving, eco-sustainability and safeguarding of resources. A special prize will also be awarded to the decarbonization projects of the company system as a whole.

The awarding ceremony for the winning companies will take place during Metef 2022

Categories of the award

The International Innovation Award intends to give a prize for the best examples of innovation applied to the production, transformation, machining and use of metal products or components, realized in each of the following categories:

• materials
• machinery and plants
• technologies and processes
• products, components, systems
• applications
• other

Proposals at the prototype stage will also be considered.

Conditions of partecipation


Participation in the contest is free and open to all the Italian and International companies exhibiting at Metef 2022


The deadline for submitting the application form and documentation to take part in the contest is 29th April 2022

How to participate

For admission to the Innovation Award, it is necessary to send the documents  of the Regulations to the Secretariat of the Metef 2022 Innovation Award to no later than 29 April 2022:

admission application form (attachment A);
illustration of the proposed innovation (attachment B);
• supporting technical and iconographic documentation;
• documentation relating to any application submitted to access public funds for national and EU innovations.

Details of the documents are contained in the Prize Rules

Jury and assignment of the award


A Jury of experts will assign, at its own discretion, the innovation award to the winning companies from each of the abovementioned categories. The Jury will also give a special mention to one or more company deserving recognition for the attention given to innovation.



Media Partner